A Life Cut Short

Yesterday, I found out my ex-husband’s niece had died. She used to be my niece. I was in the delivery room and heard her take her first breath. Yesterday, she took her last. She was killed on a train track. I don’t know if she did it in purpose, was pushed or it was a horrid accident. I don’t know. I might never know. She had made some mistakes, but having just graduated, with my own daughter, she had a future ahead of her. And one last childish act will be her legacy. Not the smiling sassy cheerleader she was, but the girl whose life was stolen by something as mundane as a train. It’s hard to wrap my head around. Knowing someone i have known from birth to death with only nearly 18 in between. She would have been 18 on the 6th. She is forever 17 now. And that is tragic.

About kelley715

Soon to be divorced (again) mom to two and grandma to a special little peanut. Trying to figure out what I'm doing, where I'm going and how to make it through life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Life Cut Short

  1. It just isn’t fair, is it? I’m so sorry…

Leave a Reply

