In My Own Back Yard

A tragedy happened Monday, I am sure some of you might have a heard. A fire broke out at a house on Lake Ontario. Webster fire department rolled up, ready to battle the fire and render aid, only to be met with gunfire. Yes, these brave men were being fire upon. Ambushed. Two were killed. Two more were injured. One man drove himself to the emergency room. These brave men, who sought only to help save lives and property, were lured to a house for the pure reason of being murdered. The murderer? A dirt-bag who name need not be mentioned. An evil incarnate sub-human who had already spent 17 years in prison for BEATING his GRANDMOTHER to death. Yeah, we are talking a real upstanding citizen here. And it all happened not an hour from where I live.

This is not the kind of thing that happens here. Yes, there is crime in the city. It’s a city. But this kind of unadulterated terror? No. Never.

All the events that have happened in the past few weeks on a national (and a local) level, the amount of stories I’ve seen involving shootings, it just takes my breath away. My heart hurts. I just don’t understand. I don’t understand what this world is coming to.  Is this the end? The beginning of the end? No one knows when the end is coming, but can we feel it? I am not an overly religious person, but I would be lying if I said I hadn’t recently sat and read the entire book of Revelations and tried to understand. I try to make sense of what is going on in the world around me, understand the why’s and the how’s, but there are just some things that will just never make any sense to me. I will never understand why or how someone could enter an elementary school and open fire.

I do know that I am holding my family closer, loving them deeper and am prepared for whatever comes in the future. I just wish that the present wasn’t so hard.

About kelley715

Soon to be divorced (again) mom to two and grandma to a special little peanut. Trying to figure out what I'm doing, where I'm going and how to make it through life.
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

