I’m Concerned

Today, while flipping channels, I happened to land on Nancy Grace. Always up for some entertainment I thought I’d see what she had to say. Would she talk about the chemical spill in West Virginia that is leaving 300,000 people without water? Or the latest school shooting that took place in New Mexico? What did she start off with? Polygamy. Yup, she was outraged that a federal judge had determined that polygamy wasn’t illegal. I was dumbfounded. She was going on and on about how polygamist all marry really young woman and abuse them. Well, actually, that is not accurate of ALL polygamist. She wasn’t questioning the legality of the marriages and if the wives collect any kind of benefits for the children they have. And she was outraged. Now myself, I don’t care about polygamy (with consenting adults). If a guy wants a few wives and can find women who are willing to buy into it, then more power to them. Put the lead story? REALLY?

At that point, I just flipped the channel. I am puzzled at mainstream media. When the news broke about the chemical spill in West Virginia, it wasn’t even front page news. The Huffington Post had the story about A-Rod on it’s front page. (does anyone care about this guy anymore?) I mean, 300,000 AMERICANS are without water because of a chemical spill. And no one raises an eyebrow?

Another school shooting today. This one in New Mexico. Two children were injured. I barely heard about it. Is it because we are becoming so desensitized to this kind of thing that it’s no longer a big deal? How can it not be news? Is it because no one died? EVERY TIME IT HAPPENS IT’S A BIG DEAL.

I’m concerned because there is more coverage of the Golden Globes then there was of real, actual issues. I have a police scanner on my cell phone and gives me broadcast alerts when something is going on anywhere in the country that’s a big deal. I get stuff on there all the time that I would never know about (plane crashes, gang violence–what the hell is going on in Chicago??, etc).

Maybe we are all just numb. Numb because social media is constantly throwing data at us and we just have gotten to a point where we can’t process everything?

I still care, I still want to know the important things going on in the world. Not what a Kardashi-whatever did at a basketball game. Entertainment news has it’s place, but it shouldn’t be on the front page. We need to be an informed society. If we aren’t, we are weak and easily manipulated.

Maybe that’s exactly how they want us to be.

About kelley715

Soon to be divorced (again) mom to two and grandma to a special little peanut. Trying to figure out what I'm doing, where I'm going and how to make it through life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

